Rainy Day In December

Singin’ in the Rain

Saturday, December 26, 2015

Oddly enough, while looking at daily prompts, I came across this topic, and as it happens, it’s a rainy, gloomy, foggy day.  Now, I love days like this almost as much as sunny days, though, I get it that many people hate days like this.  Still, despite my enjoyment of rainy days, the weather does end up affecting me negatively by the end of Winter.  Yes, that good old Seasonal Affective Disorder, or S.A.D., but that’s another topic all together.

At present, it’s 12:30 in the afternoon, and I’ve not gotten much accomplished.  The house is quiet, disturbed only by the hum of the refrigerator, the measured ticking of a clock in my office down the hall, and the periodic sound of rain on the roof.  I have the house to myself, being that my husband is working today, and the Baby Girls are sound asleep on the couch.  The house is filled with the smell of balsam fir candle burning on the Maplewood lamp table, and the miniature lights on our little Christmas tree glow cozily.  There’s a damp chill to the air that only gray, rainy Winter days can bring.

Most days like this, I like to crochet or read, sometimes just nap.  Sometimes, I like to just sit and listen to the silence, perhaps meditating, perhaps lost deep in thought, perhaps just zoning out.  I rarely turn the TV on, though occasionally, I will put on either Pandora on or one of the music channels on the satellite dish.  Housework or other chores call for more upbeat music, but rainy days…ambient spa or new age.  Nice, mellow background music that encourages thoughts to just flow, eases stress and requires little to no thinking.  Just there, soothing and peaceful.

This is not one of those days.  I have a few presents to wrap for a Framily get together this evening, and I just don’t feel motivated to do it.  This is a totally non motivated to get a damn thing done day.  Especially now that it’s pouring.  Perhaps it’s time to just sit, listen to the rain and Be.

 

About lunabellazoe

Pardon the mess, I'm still under construction
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

