Learning

My life feels like it’s been one long fight

And I’ve never been certain of any saving grace

Some days, it feels like I’m standing in the light

But it’s ever been tears or sunlight on my face

It’s had me on the move

As reckless and restless as the wind

When you’d feel I was moving closer

I merely had you at arms length again

It can be hard to let someone in

It’s doubly hard to trust anyone

Too many times I’ve felt the knife stick in

Keeping me defensive and on the run

But lately it seems like there’s been a slackening

An easing of burdens undeserved

Some vaguely perceived slight reckoning

Of peace for my hardened reserve

But I’m learning to trust and learning to care

To ask for the things I desire

I’m learning to be present, to be fully there

And I’m finally learning how to reach higher

About lunabellazoe

Pardon the mess, I'm still under construction
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment